by tracybanaszynski

I am reading Horns To Toes and In Between to H. We come to the page about eyes.

“And we’ve all got two eyes that can open and close…”

H starts humming. I keep reading.

“And we have a fuzzy tummy that we all like to pat and a little belly button in the middle of that.”

Three pages later, H is still humming.

Puzzled, I turn back to the page where the humming started.

“And we’ve all got two eyes that can open and close…”

And then, in a flash, I understand. Open and close.

When we read Olivia’s Opposites, I say, “Open. Ahhh. Closed. Mmmm.”

H is making the sound of closed.

Later, I ask my mom, “All parents think their children are geniuses, don’t they?”

“Yes, Tracy,” my mom says, with a knowing smile and a nod. “All parents think their children are geniuses. Yes, they do.”

