by tracybanaszynski

The theme at story time today was space. There were, as you might suppose, stories and songs about outer space.

Here are the songs we sang before H decided he was all done with story time.

I’m a Little Rocket
(To the tune of I’m a Little Teapot)

I’m a little rocket, tall and thin
[Stand with arms stretched overhead]
Here is my nose cone
[Fingertips meet overhead to form cone]
Here is my fin
[Hold arms from sides pointing down like fins]
When I get all fired up
Launch begins
Watch me rise
[Jump up]
And see me spin!
[Spin in place]

We’re Flying Off to Space
(To the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)

We’re flying off to space
We’re flying off to space
I think we’ll see the moon up there!
We’re flying off to space

I think we’ll see some planets there!
I think we’ll see some stars up there!
I think we’ll see a rocket there!

Climb Aboard the Spaceship
(To the tune of The Itsy Bitsy Spider)

Climb aboard the spaceship
We’re going to the moon
Hurry up and get ready
We’re going to blast off soon!
Put on your helmet
And buckle up real tight
Here comes the countdown
Let’s count with all our might!

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Blast off!

